Nest

I’m sore and tired, so this is going to be short. Continuing with my ZBrush, Keyshot, Rebelle, and Affinity Photo trend, here is probably one of my more difficult illustrations. I believe the final polygon count was over 30 million… Anyways, here’s “Nest”:

Click for full size

An update: Once again, I decided to play around with the render a little more and try to style it after my favorite photographer’s work. J.P. Witkin has inspired me almost as much as Giger and Beksinski, though I absolutely suck at photography. He is a photographer with a unique, controversial, dark vision, which helps him create equal parts grotesque and beautiful scratched up black and white photograph artworks. When adjusting contrast and adding noise and chaotic imperfections to my work, Witkin’s work is almost always in my mind. I figured it was time to give him a nod:

Click for full size

I sincerely hope to continue this productivity kick I’ve been on lately. Thanks for looking!

One thought on “Nest

  1. Yo Todd, 🙂

    Lookit you go! Another posting? Your new job is bearing fruit! Nuttin’ worse than being controlled by parasites–the only thing missing is a steering wheel on the top of the head. Reminds me of those horrifying videos of larvae controlling snails; the way they throbbed and pulsated inside their eyestalks… Gah! In this case, it’s like that episode of “Outer Limits” with the Zanti Misfits.

    Did you yell out the polygon count ala “Dragonball Z” with “It’s over 30,000,000!” There definitely is a more realistic smoothness to the model’s skin that I noticed. Great work! And creepy. Great, creepy work!

    More later I’m sure!

    Your pal (and Superman’s),

    John D.

    Like

Leave a comment